Sage 10 - understanding the workflow

So this is a general question about Sage and I hope I can ask it here.

I just started at a company that is using Sage 10, the developer before me built the master template that they are now using. I’m new to Sage and the process I was shown to edit a live site or staging site that is using our Sage template seems very long and tedious. I wanted to reach out and see if anyone tell me if this process is correct or if the previous developer maybe missed something or wasn’t finished before he left.

The process for editing lets say a CSS style on a live site is:

1- I need yarn & node installed on server
2- FTP into server
3- edit CSS file (lets say sections.css, under resources>assets>styles)
4- Connect with Putty
5- Run Yarn build (or whatever the script command may be)

Do this process seem correct for something as simple as a CSS edit?

1. No, you don’t need and also shouldn’t install node and yarn on the production system (the web server that is used by the public/customers). These are build dependencies that are used for building the theme. As a best practice, this should happen on a workstation or a build/CI server. Not on the production system.
  2. FTP isn’t preferable. Better is SSH/rsync or SFTP for securely and efficiently transfering files and changes from the workstation/CI/build/deploy server to the production system.
  3. Those are not CSS but SCSS files, though you can just use CSS as a valid subset of SCSS (SASS).
  4. Manual deployment should be avoided, roots also offers Bedrock and Trellis that help with further automating deployments.
  5. As explained in 1. you don’t want to build on the production system.

Simple CSS edits would encompass changing the theme, committing the change, building/pushing to CI, deploying the site with the new theme - or deploying just the theme if you don’t use Bedrock/Trellis.

So the best/proper practice workflow looks like this:

1 Like